BATS OF BANGALORE | Workshop

Workshop

Srishti Institut of Art, Design & Technology, Bangalore, IN / 20.11. – 18.12.2017

Together with the philosopher and dramaturg Nikolaus Witty, Till Wyler von Ballmoos researched the phenomenon of blindness and explored the artistic potential that blank spaces harbored with students of Srishti Institut of Art, Design & Technology in Bangalore. The goal of the workshop was to teach strategies of performative practice and to develop short site specific works.

As a result the students invented and performed ten site specific performances by exploring sight and sound about the metaphorical notion of blindness. The performances were showcased on December 1 at the film festival EXPERIMENTA 2017 and on December 14 and 15 at the Festival of Stories, Art In Transit project at Cubbon Park metro station in Bangalore.

Alongside the workshop, a blog was initiated by us and used by the students as a platform for an  internal exchange of ideas and projects and finally to share impressions with others: cargocollective.com/bats-of-bangalore/

Scroll Up

BATS OF BANGALORE | Workshop

Workshop

Srishti Institut of Art, Design & Technology, Bangalore, IN / 20.11. – 18.12.2017

Gemeinsam mit dem Philosophen und Dramaturgen Nikolaus Witty recherchierte Till Wyler von Ballmoos das Phänomen der Blindheit und erforschte das künstlerische Potenzial von Leerstellen mit Studenten des Srishti Institut of Art, Design & Technology in Bangalore. Ziel des Workshops war es, Strategien der performativen Praxis zu vermitteln und kurze ortsspezifische Arbeiten zu entwickeln.

Als Ergebnis erfanden und führten die Studenten zehn ortsspezifische Performances auf, in denen sie sich über Formen des Hin- und Wegsehens und des Hin- und Weghörens mit dem Begriff der Blindheit auseinandersetzten. Die Performances wurden am 1. Dezember im Rahmen des Film Festivals EXPERIMENTA 2017 und am 14. und 15. Dezember auf dem Festival of Stories, Art In Transit Projekt in der Metrostation Cubbon Park in Bangalore gezeigt.

Neben dem Workshop wurde von uns ein Blog initiiert und von den Studenten als Plattform für den internen Austausch von Ideen und Projekten und schließlich zum Austausch von Eindrücken genutzt: http://cargocollective.com/bats-of-bangalore/

Scroll Up