BATS OF BANGALORE

Seminar / Workshop

Srishti Institute for Art, Design & Technology, Bangalore / 20.11. – 17.12.2017

Performance Project
Nowadays, abundant information is readily available about any and all events. This ticks us into believing that we accumulate knowledge and thereby gain insights. Isn’t that a big illusion? The information overflow creates ‚noise‘, that makes us ‚blind‘ and simultaneously offers the opportunity to create a sense for diversity and multifaceted revelations. How can ‚blindness‘ be used productively as ‚Terra Incognita’? Can blind spots be repurposed as an area of imagination and opportunities?

In the myth of Oedipus two antagonists, King Oedipus and the blind fortuneteller Teiresias, meet: In spite of intact eyesight Oedipus fails to see his own tragedy – the blind Teiresias recognises the imminent catastrophe, however. How does Oedipus manage to change his point of view to gain insight into his identity?

In an essay from 1974 entitled “What is it like to be a bat?” the philosopher Thomas Nagel treats the difficulties in capturing awareness in others. What does the world look like that is only perceived as reflections of sound waves? Leveraging the image of a bat Nagel seeks a radical change in how we experience things, in order to explore “what is it like to be…”. The thesis about changing the vantage point of our sensual and cognitive abilities in the Oedipus myth and Nagel’s essay serve as food for thought and as the literary foundation for this project.

Till Wyler von Ballmoos, musician and director, and Nikolaus Witty, dramaturg, invite the students to develop an open performance concept along with them. In this project we research the phenomenon ‚blindness’ and explore the artistic potential that blank spaces harbour. The goal of this work is the development of multimedia performance essays, which capture the current discourse on construction of identity using a free format without restrictions or limitations in means.

We work on transformative processes using physical exercises. Under the notion of empathy and embodiment we improvise staged role play. Possible formats for the performance include motive and role specific reenactments, performing with space and text, interventions in the public space and a collection of materials that will be the foundation for an exhibit. Critique and formative feedback will be used to reflect on the work of the students.

Initial accomplishments will be showcased as an intervention on 1 December during the film festival EXPERIMENTA 2017  in Bangalore. All works will be presented publicly between 15 and 16 December at the Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology as part of the conclusion of the term.

With and by Nikolaus Witty & Till Wyler von Ballmoos, Students of Srishti Institut of Art, Design and Technology

Supported by

    

Scroll Up

BATS OF BANGALORE

Seminar / Workshop

Srishti Institute for Art, Design & Technology, Bangalore / 20.11. – 17.12.2017

Performance Projekt
Medial sind heute Information zu jedem erdenklichen Ereignis verfügbar. Das macht uns glauben, dass wir Wissen ansammeln und somit Erkenntnis gewinnen. Ist dies nicht eine grosse Illusion? Das mediale ‚Rauschen’ lässt uns ‚blind‘ werden und kann zugleich auch ein Bewusstsein für Diversität und multiperspektivische Erkenntnis schaffen. Wie lässt sich ‚Blindheit’ produktiv als ‚Terra Incognita‘ nutzen? Lassen sich blinde Flecken als Imaginations- und Möglichkeitsraum umdenken?

Im Mythos Ödipus treffen die Antagonisten König Ödipus und der blinde Seher Teiresias aufeinander: Der sehende Ödipus erkennt seine eigene Tragödie nicht – der blinde Teiresias hingegen erkennt die unvermeidliche Katastrophe. Wie gelingt es Ödipus seine Sicht zu wechseln und Erkenntnis über seine Identität zu gewinnen?

In seinem 1974 erschienenen Essay „What is it like to be a bat?“ („Wie ist es, eine Fledermaus zu sein?”) behandelt der Philosoph Thomas Nagel die Schwierigkeit, das Bewusstsein eines Gegenübers zu erfassen. Wie sieht eine Welt aus, wenn man sie nur über die reflektierten Schallwellen des Echolots wahrnimmt? Mit dem Umweg über das Bild einer Fledermaus fordert Nagel einen radikalen Wechsel der Erlebnisperspektive, um zu verstehen ‚what is it like to be…‘. Die Thesen zum Perspektivwechsel in Bezug auf unsere sinnlichen und logisch-kognitiven Fähigkeiten im Ödipus-Mythos und Nagels Essay dienen in der Entwicklung des Projekts als literarischer Denkanstoß und Gradmesser.

Der Regisseur und Musiker Till Wyler von Ballmoos und der Dramaturg Nikolaus Witty laden ein, gemeinsam ein offenes Performancekonzept zu entwickeln. In der Projektarbeit erforschen die Studierenden mit performativ-künstlerischen Strategien das Phänomen ‚Blindheit‘ und aktivieren das künstlerischen Potential von Leerstellen. Ziel des Arbeit ist die Entwicklung von intermedialen Performance-Essays, die aktuelle Diskurse zu Identitätskonstruktionen aufgreifen, praktisch erörtern und die in der Wahl ihrer Mittel und Formate frei sind.

Wir arbeiten mit körperlichen Übungen an transformatorischen Prozessen, mit Konzepten von Empathie und Verkörperung an szenischen Rollenspielen. Mögliche Formen der Performance sind motiv- und rollenbezogene Reenactments, Spiel mit Raum und Text, Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum und einer gemeinsamen Materialsammlung, die sich räumlich abbildet. Reflektiert wird die Arbeit mit prozessorientierten Strategien von Kritik und Feedback.

Erste Versuche werden am 1.12.2017 als Interventionen im Rahmen der Performance ØDIPUS REC beim Filmfestivals EXPERIMENTA 2017 in Bangalore, Indien gezeigt. Alle studentischen Arbeiten werden am 15.12. und 16.12. im Rahmen des Semesterabschluss’ am Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology in Bangalore öffentlich präsentiert.

Von und mit Nikolaus Witty & Till Wyler von Ballmoos, Student*innen des Srishti Institut of Art, Design and Technology

Unterstützt von

    

Scroll Up